A Change of Pace

Standard

I recently decided I might need a change of pace in my life. With everything I have going on each week, exercise sometimes gets pushed to the bottom of my day planner. I tend to make excuses for why I fail to get active. But after I recently read an article, my perspective has completely changed.

Brian Balmes is a six-time cancer survivor and as of November 2012, Balmes is also an Ironman athlete. His story is purely inspirational, as he survived liposarcoma not once, but six times. His fourteen-and-a-half-year battle with cancer motivated him as he prepared for one year to complete in an Ironman triathlon—an event that consists of a grueling 2.4-mile swim, a 112-mile bicycle ride, and a 26.2-mile run. But the full Ironman was not Balmes’ first triumph. He has also run twelve marathons and seven half Ironman triathlons, along with many other 5Ks, 10Ks, and shorter triathlons.

What’s next? Balmes is currently training for a 50-mile run. Even six battles with cancer have not stopped this dedicated athlete. After reading his story, I feel a new sense of motivation to change my own pace. While I don’t anticipate that I’ll complete an Ironman anytime soon, I do feel confident that I can learn from Balmes’ inspiring story. With a little help from the Green Refrigerator Machine, I’ll be able to eat healthier and save time—allowing me to get more active and to learn from people like Balmes.

In a recent blog post, Balmes reminded us that “we all have a list of the top ten epic, emotional, moving, and inspiring events in our lives. They can range from the day you got married, had your children, or even stood up to the high school bully! For me, being a six-time liposarcoma survivor, I added to my list on Saturday, November 3, 2012, when twenty-six of my friends and I raced and completed the Florida Ironman.”

For more information, visit http://blog.livestrong.org/2012/11/23/brian-balmes-ironman-and-so-much-more/.

About bluebirdsisterhood

About Kim Power Stilson: TalkWorthy Talk Radio Show host on SiriusXM 143 weekdays at 3 pm Eastern, author of "Choose Surthrival! Are you ready to go from surviving to thriving with at 21st Century business?", digital media strategist for Power Strategies and writer for Puerto Vallarta Today magazine. Kim Power Stilson has helped position hundreds of people and their causes through e-media, PR, radio and TV. Hollywood celebrities, authors, United States Senators,corporations, non-profit organizations and home-based businesses alike have enjoyed success through the application of her strategies. A dual citizen, Kim divides her time between the United States, England & Ireland. Visit her at www.kimpowerstilson.com.

Leave a comment