The year 1806 and my Christmas Spirit today!

Standard

I memorized the following poem by William Wordsworth when I was in high school. A couple of times over the years as I have gotten a little consumed with Christmas shopping or keeping up with the Joneses, this poem will pop into my head. Yesterday as I worked a full day, picked up a few last minute gifts and then baked 3 batches of cookies,made 5 Christmas casseroles and ended the day by running a load of laundry . . . there it was again! This poem, written in 1806, is as relevant if not more so, for us today. I was too tired to care too much last night, but this morning at the crack of dawn (literally) I rose up early to have a moment to just be, to just breathe, to remember who I am, what my goals are, what I love about my life . . . it felt so good. Now I feel a little more centered and as I return with a less hurried and more thankful heart to the work that is necessary for the season . . . I feel alive and well and filled with the spirit we all want to have for the holidays! If you like . . . please read and enjoy . . .

THE world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers:
Little we see in Nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
The Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not.–Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

William Wordsworth, 1806

About bluebirdsisterhood

About Kim Power Stilson: TalkWorthy Talk Radio Show host on SiriusXM 143 weekdays at 3 pm Eastern, author of "Choose Surthrival! Are you ready to go from surviving to thriving with at 21st Century business?", digital media strategist for Power Strategies and writer for Puerto Vallarta Today magazine. Kim Power Stilson has helped position hundreds of people and their causes through e-media, PR, radio and TV. Hollywood celebrities, authors, United States Senators,corporations, non-profit organizations and home-based businesses alike have enjoyed success through the application of her strategies. A dual citizen, Kim divides her time between the United States, England & Ireland. Visit her at www.kimpowerstilson.com.

Leave a Reply

