17 bowls of Vomit and a Pearl Necklace for Mother’s Day!

Standard

I don’t like Mother’s Day never have. I was in New York once for Mother’s Day, I went to a church service where some Mom’s got up and actually spoke of banning Mother’s Day. I mean we all love Mother’s but the Day? The day sucks! (Forgive the language Mom!) It is supposed to be a day that honors us for all we do right? But how do those of us who don’t have kids feel? How about those of us who do have kid’s who forget feel? I say we be kind to Mother’s everywhere every day! That is my soap box and I am sticking to it.

Now before you think I am too negative, this year I had decided to plan for MOther’s Day. I got up early Saturday morning to see my husband off to a volunteer fire fighter mock service project, and quickly up made Sunday brunch, dinner — easy souffle and crockpot roast — and put it in the refrigerator. I baked up two batches of cupcakes — banana and chocolate — as gifts for grandma and other Mother friends (I had sent the cards earlier this week and even bought one for the kid’s to give me) and for Sunday dessert. I did all that and it was still early!

The little kid’s were still in bed, Maddy was still in Florida on vacation with her friend’s family . . . I was tired,feeling sorry for myself, it had been a long couple of weeks. Perhaps I could just crawl back into bed, sleep in, take some time for me? It was Mother’s Day weekend after all . . . surely I could get away with it? After that I would have a fun day, maybe go garage sale-ing, hunt through my favorite bookstore, give myself a manicure. This would be the greatest Mother’s Day ever. I was ready for it! I was positive I had anticipated everything!

What always happens when you decide to take ME time?

Just as I snuggled into the covers my Dad came in with my little brother Charlie’s 10-month old baby, Olivia. Charles was at work and his wife was very ill with the flu. Could I take the baby?

My 9-year old son came in and reminded me I promised to let him wash the dogs. So I held the baby got the first dog (have you seen our dogs?) into the shower with my son and then the baby throw up.

That’s how it all started! Saturday I cleaned up 6 throw ups and washed 3 dogs with my son, and laundered countless towels and sheets. Then McKall, my 12-year old got that look, flushed cheeks, stomach pains. McKall threw up, Olivia threw up, then one of the dogs threw up. Then the other dog ate that and the sniffed around McKall. What is it with dog’s and vomit?

Soon I had bowls lined up in front of each of them in various stages of illness. They would throw up, I would get rid of the vomit, wash the bowls, sanitize them and then exchange them for another bowl. Mother’s Day came and went . . . those who were well ate the meals I made . . . ate the cupcakes . . . most of them I put in the freezer for school lunches. Celebration? brunch? I didn’t even get to go to church! What I did do was clean up vomit!

In all by mid week, I had washed out 17 bowls of Vomit. I had not slept and I had antibacterial-ed (is that a word?) every square inch of the house. It has been beautiful outside, I would not know though as I have not stepped out of the house since last Friday. A kind neighbor brought by flu relief medicines and popsicles . . . and I almost hugged her . . . but she got out of the doorway fast. Who wants to hug a woman who has cleaned up vomit all week?

I forgot all about Mother’s Day til my oldest daughter came back from Florida. She handed round her souvenirs and then had me close my eyes. She said, “this is for Mother’s Day!” and handed me a beautiful pearl necklace. She had pulled the pearl from an oyster while in Florida and then went to buy a chain. She gave me a hug and started laughing when I started to cry, “you remembered me?” She said, “Mom, of course I did!”

I am wearing that necklace now as Maddy is calling me. “Mom . . . my stomach hurts!” and she looks like she might throw up. Yup there she goes . . . 18 bowls of Vomit now . . . but somehow I don’t mind . . . Mother’s Day doesn’t need to be perfect . . . Mother’s just need to be there . . . and remembered eventually!

About bluebirdsisterhood

About Kim Power Stilson: TalkWorthy Talk Radio Show host on SiriusXM 143 weekdays at 3 pm Eastern, author of "Choose Surthrival! Are you ready to go from surviving to thriving with at 21st Century business?", digital media strategist for Power Strategies and writer for Puerto Vallarta Today magazine. Kim Power Stilson has helped position hundreds of people and their causes through e-media, PR, radio and TV. Hollywood celebrities, authors, United States Senators,corporations, non-profit organizations and home-based businesses alike have enjoyed success through the application of her strategies. A dual citizen, Kim divides her time between the United States, England & Ireland. Visit her at www.kimpowerstilson.com.

Leave a Reply

