Learning to do it ourselves! From baking to marketing and sales!Blog title…

Standard

Tough economic times call for tough measures. Last year after learning I would not be paid for a project I had worked on due to a company’s insolvency, I felt pretty poor. In fact loosing that income did definitely put me in a poor frame of mind.
It was Christmas time and undaunted I was determined to make the best of it. I felt like making Christmas cookies! So without any marketing or PR projects, to do I set out ingredients to do some baking. Flour, sugar, shortening, olive oil, still cluttered our counter when my kids arrived home. Used to seeing me in front of my laptop in my office, rather than covered with flour and in the kitchen, the kids asked what I was doing? “I am baking,” I said trying to sound confident. My daughter, having heard the money news the night before and all of 14 said, “Is this how poor people do it?”
I thought back to previous holidays, caterers, frozen entrees, and unwrap and bake cookies, and said, “Yes!” She then asked, “Do you know how to do it yourself?” I decided not to answer that because frankly I was not sure. Being a working mother and most recently a work at home mother (WAHM) I realized I wasn’t really all that sure if I could make cookies from scratch or even if I knew how to bake. Yet now with the lack of funds, and the tough economy, I realized I would have to learn how to do a lot of things myself.
As I searched for measuring spoons (did I even have those?) and a rolling pin (what is a rolling pin?) and shortening (do people still actually eat shortening?) I thought of all the ways I would need to “tighten the belt” if we were to survive without the annual money we had been expecting. What things could I do myself?
First I thought of all the things that cost money?
Gas, electricity, food, running a business.
Gas and utilities? No idea how to do that myself! .
Food? I could grow a garden but hey there is snow outside, maybe not.
What about the little extras we take for granted?
Dry cleaning?
Services?
Could I learn to do some of those things myself? Well, I could learn to cook from scratch, there are now Nintendo games that teach parents to cook. (What is that saying from the fast food generation?)
And there do it yourself dry clean at home (read directions carefully) but what about marketing your company? My father-in-law always says that the fastest cure for poverty is sales. How can people market themselves? To me that would be like making cookies from scratch and having them edible – impossible.
Since marketing is my game, and in response to tough times, I put together a 24 hour, step by step do it yourself process to get people marketing and selling themselves. You can find it on my website if you need that kind of thing. It works to get you marketing your company with a strategy in 24 hours and better, the sales taste great! It is all delivered online and for pennies on the dollar. You don’t need to hire an agency to do your marketing; you can do it yourself with a little training from http://www.powerstrategies.TV. Now that is what I am good at, and I shared my secrets with you and I think it will help. Now would someone help me learn to make dinner from scratch? What exactly does scratch mean anyway?

About bluebirdsisterhood

About Kim Power Stilson: TalkWorthy Talk Radio Show host on SiriusXM 143 weekdays at 3 pm Eastern, author of "Choose Surthrival! Are you ready to go from surviving to thriving with at 21st Century business?", digital media strategist for Power Strategies and writer for Puerto Vallarta Today magazine. Kim Power Stilson has helped position hundreds of people and their causes through e-media, PR, radio and TV. Hollywood celebrities, authors, United States Senators,corporations, non-profit organizations and home-based businesses alike have enjoyed success through the application of her strategies. A dual citizen, Kim divides her time between the United States, England & Ireland. Visit her at www.kimpowerstilson.com.

Leave a Reply

